The Friday I Wasted Hating Globe Telecom

globe telecom, globe sucks, globe service
Grabbed from Tumblr

First off, let me apologize for having two consecutive posts which contain elements of rage and frustration. I just have to let some steam off through writing because I have been swearing a lot since this morning. This could be a trivial reason for ruining my Friday, but because I have been a slave to technology for a long time now, I feel like I’ve lost a limb now that my phone is not working.

Since 9 o’clock this morning, I have been disconnected from the rest of the world because I don’t have signal on my phone. Instead of having breakfast, I wasted about 20 minutes of my precious time trying to contact my least favorite company in the whole world, the suckiest telco provider of them all – Globe Telecom.

I have spoken to five representatives from Globe today, and each one of them just gave me a senseless excuse that even a ten-year old will doubt. Seriously, system maintenance in the area? How come out of the hundreds of unfortunate Globe subscribers in the office, I am the only one suffering this fate? I don’t want to exaggerate, but I feel utterly annoyed with the way they handled my calls. I worked in a call center auditing calls of agents for four years, so they can’t give me that bullsh*t. I pretty much know when a CSR is inventing stuff, then he proceeds to pretending that he cannot hear me, then he goes apologizing insincerely. The CSRs I spoke with also attempted to disconnect the call when I asked for a supervisor. They all advised me to wait for three to five days while they are “investigating” on the issue. Seriously? Three to five days? I don’t know about you dear CSRs, but I get text messages and calls on a daily basis from my friends and loved ones. One whole day of not being able to use my phone is too long, what more three effing days.

Their next suggestion was for me to go to a Globe store. The nearest one was in Podium, and with high hopes that I’d get to talk to someone with more sense, I went there during my break. I made a great discovery: One Globe store rep there does not love his job. Lucky you, I wasn’t able to get your name because you were covering your ID with your jacket. He did not apologize (dude, that’s a MUST for anyone who works in the customer service industry), and did not offer a feasible solution to the problem. He sounded so condescending that all throughout the conversation, I was trying to control my right hand from landing a punch on his face.

I guess you’d understand my sentiments better once you know where I’m coming from. I am complaining and relating this from the point of view of a new team leader, a customer service and communications trainer, and finally, a customer.

As a new team leader, I am trying my very best to instill in the minds of my associates the importance of working efficiently. If you work efficiently, you will most probably yield accurate results. When the results, whatever those are – reports, trackers, emails, are error-free, you’ll have happy customers. You don’t have to deal with their complaints and endless ranting when you do a great job. Simply put, you are a happy employee with happy customers. I also want them to understand that we cannot run the risk of losing one customer. That customer can easily influence others not to trust the company. Trust, once lost, is hard to build again. The way Globe is dealing with this supposedly small issue goes to show that they don’t see how each customer is important to their company.

As a trainer, I have been teaching my students how to handle difficult customers. They are customers you don’t want to mess up with, so you better try to listen to them and do everything you can to recover from service failure. Apparently, CSRs from Globe have not been trained to do so (or if they were, they sure as hell are not applying service recovery in their calls). It makes me wonder how Globe is doing in terms of CSAT. I have been telling my trainees that if they cannot give what the customer is asking for, then they should at least offer a workaround, which should be a win-win situation for both the provider and the customer. Globe’s offer is definitely something I refuse to accept. I have to be the one to scour those Globe stores in malls just to have my sim card replaced. They are claiming that they cannot check which store has the available sim card serial number so I can just have my number reactivated. And they want me to believe this terrible lie that a telco provider cannot contact their branches. Spell inconvenience: Globe Telecom.

Lastly, as a customer of Globe (for how long, I cannot remember and I don’t want to count), I am simply tired of all these useless calls, listening to CSRs struggling to explain themselves in straight English. I would rather much hear my dog bark than listen to a CSR stammer as he tells me a part of his spiel and I end the call none the wiser.

I guess the saying that expectations lead to disappointments should be something to keep in mind whenever I deal with Globe. I should not expect anything from them at all because despite their company tagline “Have it your way,” I can never have it my way with them. The service that they deliver (if you can call that service) is unsatisfactory, and it pains me to think that I have limited choices with telco providers. While I acknowledge the fact that there’s no such thing as perfect service, I still find it unacceptable that a company as big as Globe cannot find a way to improve.

So there goes my Friday, half of which I spent muttering how disgusted I am with this company who has the guts to pride themselves with the lowest possible quality of service. Whenever I see their logo, I feel like I’m staring at the epitome of customer service epic failures.

Maybe I just need a cup of coffee and a little positivity that eventually, I will be able to connect with the rest of the world again.

2 thoughts on “The Friday I Wasted Hating Globe Telecom

  1. Nikki

    Ya globe sucks! When it comes to their services. Like i cut my plan limit to 500. But again it overspends but the cut was called to globe 3-4 months ago.grr

Leave a Reply

