Things That I Love – 3. Books

I am a certified bookworm. On my 7th birthday, I received A Book of 1001 Questions and Answers as a gift. My love affair with books started from the day I opened it and memorized the questions and answers, categorized into history, astronomy, human body, music, and general science. Up until now, when I join or come across trivia games, I can tell whether the question and the answer is in the book. A little scary, yes? πŸ™‚ But that’s when I realized the role books play in our lives. They don’t exist simply to entertain, but more to educate and feed the mind.

What’s not to love about books? I guess the only thing I hate about it is that books gave me these bulging, dark eye bags I will never get rid of. Sometimes, I get too engrossed in reading a book, I barely notice that I only have three hours left to sleep. But then again, I don’t want to waste life sleeping if I have a good book in hand. Over the past years I have amassed a humble collection of books with different genres, which are mostly gifts from people who know how much I love reading.

books, book collection
Books, books, books. Love ’em.

Nothing beats the joy of covering a new book, smelling each page, wondering what’s gonna happen after each turn of a page, dying a little every time your favorite character gets hurt, or waking up because the spine of the book that you’re reading fell on the bridge of your nose really hard.

books, millennium series, miss peregrine's home for peculiar children, stieg larsson, perks of being a wallflower
Latest loot!

Paul Sweeney says this about books, and I cannot agree more:

“You know you’ve read a good book when you turn the last page and feel a little as if you have lost a friend.”

Currently reading: The Girl Who Played With Fire by Stieg Larsson and Choke by Chuck Palahniuk

Leave a Reply

