One Big Unforgettable Banana

I wrote in this post how excited I am for the trips that I have scheduled this May. The fun has just started last weekend when my cousins and I went beaching in Puerto Galera. It was our first summer trip ever without our parents. We enjoyed it so much that we vowed to do it every year.

The highlight of the trip to Puerto Galera was our banana boat ride. My cousin Regine wanted to ride one so badly that on the second day of our stay there, we paid 2,000php for a 20-minute ride which was settled with an agreement that the mamang bangkero will drop us in the middle of the sea for four times. We were thrilled and we were just shrieking the entire time. There was also an instance when I let go of the handlebar and fell into the sea (I thought it was time to jump off) so my cousin Danica, my brother Kevin, and my cousin’s girlfriend, Jane, who were all seated behind me dove into the sea, too. Lo and behold – my brother Louie  and three cousins were still astride the boat, cracking up.

After the ride, we still managed to take pictures on the banana boat. I was still laughing my head off when the bangkero asked us to climb up again. I was feeling so weak because I really cannot stop laughing and I felt as if my sides were gonna split up. And so the banana boat ordeal began:

So I attempted to climb up while laughing...
There were still three of us who had to get on the banana. I’m the one in the middle wearing the pink/gray rash guard.
My cousin Kiko has successful crawled on to the boat, leaving me and my cousin Danica still trying hard...
My cousin Kiko has successful crawled on to the boat, leaving me and my cousin Danica who has almost made it, while I was still trying hard…
Danica was almost there. I still cannot stifle my laughter. My cousins were starting to laugh, too, making it even harder for me to pull myself up. My cousin Regine grabbed the straps of my life vest, to no avail...
Danica was almost there. I still cannot stifle my laughter. My cousin Regine grabbed the straps of my life vest, to no avail…
My cousin Kiko joins the scene and helps pull me up, but I was still laughing hard, I cannot even lift my right leg up onto the boat...
My cousin Kiko joins the scene and helps pull me up, but I was still laughing hard, I cannot even lift my right leg up onto the boat… (yes the manong zoomed in the camera, smart one.)
They both decided to take deep breaths and pull my arms forcefully, dragging me onto to the boat. FYI - I thought I'd die of laughter.
They both decided to take deep breaths and pull my arms forcefully, dragging me onto to the boat. FYI – I thought I’d die of laughter at this point. My cousin in front seemed to be really amused at my expense.
FINALLY!!!! And yes I am still snickering at this point.
FINALLY!!!! And yes I am still snickering, I can’t help it.

Kudos to manong bangkero for being able to take clear pictures to document my struggle. I will never ever forget this big banana. Banana, you were so hard to climb on, but you gave me a great time. 🙂 I hope to ride you again.

Let’s all enjoy the remaining days of summer!

Photos taken by the bangkero, using an iTouch 5th gen. Photo credits: Danica Tolentino

2 thoughts on “One Big Unforgettable Banana

Leave a Reply

