Holiday Work, GoT S03EP9, and Freedom of Speech

I did something today which I haven’t done for hmmm.. the last two years. I went to work on a holiday. This may not be a big deal for people who work in call centers, for instance, because they are required to go to work even on Christmas day. Though I am employed in a BPO, I was initially with HR so holidays declared by the government are rest days for us as well. But now that I’ve transferred to an operations team, I have to look after our staff members who report for work on holidays.

This gloomy morning made me keep snoozing the alarm because my mind was telling me, “It’s June 12 today, no work for you!” But I dragged myself from the bed and prepared for an eight-hour shift.

design your life planner
June 12 was just like another ordinary work day. At least I got to finish all these tasks for the day!

And I loved it! Going to work was easy because there were no annoying traffic jams and there were only a few people on their way to wherever at 7:30 am. Before I knew it, I was in Ortigas in less than 20 minutes. I wish it was a holiday everyday.

I got to tick off all the items in my to-do list. To reward myself, I’m now chilling in my room and watching the season finale of Game of Thrones Season 3.

Speaking of which, I would just like to say sorry to all my FB friends who read my status the other day about the 9th episode where Robb and Catelyn died. JUST KIDDING! I am not sorry, not at all. :p

game of thrones season 3, stark family meme, the red wedding
Can’t get over it. (grabbed from garciaandy23’s tumblr account)

The Philippines is a free country, and I can exercise my freedom of expression by updating my FB page with my thoughts, right? I didn’t mean for it to be a spoiler, but it totally didn’t cross my mind that not all of my friends in FB have read the book. Before even watching it, I had an idea about what was going to happen because I’ve finished the first three books, halfway done with the fourth. Imagine my shock when I read what George R.R. Martin did to the King of the North and Lady Catelyn after Edmure’s wedding. I was still horror-struck when I saw the Red Wedding happen, when I heard the music played by the band turn to a melancholic one, when I stared at the credits, unable to move, depressed after seeing Robb and his wife stabbed to death. So don’t hate me for posting that. Maybe you shouldn’t just read my Facebook wall when Season 4 starts. πŸ™‚

Having said my piece on freedom of speech and the horrifying throat-slitting scene, let me now indulge myself in this season-ender. Happy Independence Day!

I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it.

–Β Voltaire
One thought on “Holiday Work, GoT S03EP9, and Freedom of Speech

  1. Your style is unique compared to other people I’ve read stuff from. Thanks for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I will just bookmark this site.

Leave a Reply

