What’s in store for Libra?

Horoscopes. Forecasts. The future told.

I can’t say I am a 100% believer, but I’m sure you know how Filipinos think sometimes. Kapag pangit ‘yung horoscope or hula, hindi maniniwala. Kapag maganda (se-swertihin ka, magiging milyonaryo, makakahanap ng gwapong boyfriend), agad-agad maniniwala.

Yeah, I read horoscopes every now and then but I can’t say that I rely on them or let them rule my life. There’s a horoscope segment in Libre, the free tabloid in the MRT, which we laugh at in the morning before starting with work. Of course, the interpretations there are meant to be hilarious and to poke fun at people with “unlucky” signs and predictions.

There are horoscopes published in broadsheets and websites which claim to have been interpreted by “respected” astrologists though. I came across an article on the 2013 forecasts per sign on Yahoo’s home page the other night. Without any hesitation, I clicked on my sign, Libra. It’s the last quarter of the year already and it might be too late to consult the celestial bodies about my luck, but I wanted to check if the prediction has a grain of truth in it. To my surprise, it did. Read on:

2013 brings you nothing short of a total rebirth, Libra. You can finally bid farewell to the heavy and austere presence of Saturn in your stars since late 2009. You have had enough lessons in love and commitment to last you a lifetime. Now you’re ready to put those lessons to the test by pursuing your true calling and passion. No longer will you be satisfied with simply scratching the surface of life. You’re prepared to go as deep as necessary to create something of lasting value. You want nothing less than the truth, and nothing short of profound meaning.
You’ll be putting more attention and importance on finances than you have in a long time now that Saturn has moved on to your money zone. This is the year to finally work on a budget and devise sound economic strategies for increasing your income without working yourself to the bone. This is an excellent time to get out of debt as much as you possibly can so that you can save your pennies for the whirlwind of change on deck in 2013. The eclipses will rock your money sectors, so be prepared for sweeping gains and losses, and plan accordingly.
You’ll continue to break out of any codependent relationship ruts with the ongoing influence of Pluto and Uranus sparring in the cosmos. You’ve certainly learned how important it is to value your authenticity and independence in all of your dealings with others. No longer will you fall prey to being too nice. You see how crucial it is to set your limits, draw your lines in the sand and commit without wavering. Saturn taught you to get off the fence and take a firm stand. This is how you gain respect. Your diplomacy and charm will always serve you well, but you realize now that they must be backed by the iron fist in the velvet glove.

I read the forecast over and over again, with mixed feelings of amazement and disbelief. There were a number of statements which definitely hit a nerve.

2013 brings you nothing short of a total rebirth, Libra. – Ditto. Eight months have passed and I am sure that I have changed a lot. I have not grown an inch, yes, but I can certainly sense that bit by bit, I am growing and getting a deeper understanding and acceptance of things.

You have had enough lessons in love and commitment to last you a lifetime. Now you’re ready to put those lessons to the test by pursuing your true calling and passion. – Spot on. If anything, the experiences I’ve had this year have taught me a lot. The realizations have changed the way I look at things, at the future relationships and friendships that I will build. The best advice given to me this year: “Choose only a few people, those who are there not just in good times, but also during tough moments. It’s better to have a few true friends. Limit your circle to those who sincerely care.” In terms of true calling and passion, I am having a great time learning and sharing and leading people. I get to pursue my passion for teaching even if I’m no longer part of the training department. I ensure that I dedicate time for the things I love to do.

This is the year to finally work on a budget and devise sound economic strategies for increasing your income without working yourself to the bone. – I think I’ve mentioned in a previous post that I am finally being more conscious with my spending. Part of getting old? Most probably. I hope the remaining months will be enough for some business plans with friends and cousins to materialize, though.

No longer will you fall prey to being too nice. – A few names pop up in my mind – those friends who’d ask, wide-eyed and in shock, “You’re nice??” Hey, I am nice! Though I often bully and tease people, that’s my way of reaching out to them. Of getting close to them. Of showing that I am comfortable with them. I guess what has really happened this year – I became more vocal. If something is bothering me, I can tell it to your face. I don’t let other people walk in and out of my life whenever they feel like it. If something doesn’t feel right, I don’t sit in the corner and silently wait even if it crushes me inside. Most importantly, I have learned the value of saying NO.

Your diplomacy and charm will always serve you well, but you realize now that they must be backed by the iron fist in the velvet glove. – Indeed. For a time, I’ve relied on my charm to get what I want. Now that I have shifted to a different career and assumed the role of a leader, I have slowly grasped the value of being firm with decisions, but at the same time exerting effort to engage and motivate those you lead.

As 2013 approaches its final weeks, I steel myself for the bumps ahead of the road. These prognostications may or may not occur, and in the end, it will still be me who will decide which path to take. The past month has been rough (and I have yet to write about it), but a Libra always tries to remain positive. At least that part is almost always true for me.

libra, balance, scales, libra horoscope

2 thoughts on “What’s in store for Libra?

Leave a Reply

