Comfort Food on a Rainy Monday: Yaku’s Katsudon

It has been raining non-stop since Sunday. I even thought that I won’t be able to report for work today because the area outside our village gets flooded really fast. Rainy days and Mondays get me down, yeah. But not today.

My mood wasn’t dampened by the icky feeling on my feet after walking in flip-flops along Emerald Avenue. I wanted to start the week with happy thoughts and with the help of my all-time favorite, Katsudon, Monday went by with me in high spirits even as I left the office and it was still raining.

I have mentioned before that I love Katsudon. Good thing Maggie and I both wanted to spare ourselves from sucky pantry food, so off we went to The Podium this afternoon. I had toast for breakfast but felt like eating rice, so I asked Maggie and Toffer if it’s fine to have Japanese for lunch. They consented, so we headed to Yaku.

yaku, yaku podium
Yaku’s tuck in the corner of The Podium’s 3rd floor.
yaku, yaku podium
What I like about Yaku – You don’t have to look around for waitstaff. You just need to press the buttons depending on what you need.

Upon opening the menu, my eyes instantly locked on their Don Buri offerings, which of course included my favorite Katsudon. Actually, all three of us ordered Katsudon. What can possibly go wrong with the famous Japanese rice toppings? It’s one of my comfort foods, aside from Jollibee corned beef and fried rice, McDonald’s fries, and Cinnabon.

Despite the small number of customers, we had to wait for around 15 minutes for our order. Good thing we were discussing something, so we let it pass. When our Katsudon was served, it was still hot. Yummy breaded pork and egg, on top of steaming hot Japanese rice on a rainy Monday afternoon, hmmmm…

yaku, katsudon, yaku podium
Yaku’s Katsudon – Php199
Yaku uses REAL Japanese rice (short-grain).
Yaku uses REAL Japanese rice (short-grain), unlike other “Japanese” restaurants, if you know what I mean.

What’s good about Yaku’s Katsudon is that the breading isn’t too thick, so you can definitely taste the tender pork inside. There are strips of Nori (seaweed) on top as a garnish, and they lent more flavor to the dish. I’m pretty sure that the rice served was more than a cup, but I still managed to finish it. 🙂 What can be done to improve it? For me, it needs onions (I like Komoro Soba’s Katsudon because it has onion slices) and maybe more Nori. Nonetheless, I enjoyed every bit of my Katsudon and devoured the very last grain of rice in the bowl.

Eating comfort food really does wonders for me. I didn’t turn into my grumpy self halfway through my shift despite the blasting cold temperature in our area.

Thanks, Yaku for starting my week right. I just hope the rains will stop tomorrow. I miss Mr. Sun already!

Yaku is located on the 3rd floor of The Podium, 18 ADB Avenue, Wack Wack, Mandaluyong City.

Leave a Reply

