Missing the Holidays

Words to describe the week that was: busy, busy, busy. Oh did I say busy? It was a week full of emails to respond to, issues to solve, appraisals to finish. It’s the nice kind of stress that I welcome and embrace though, a diversion I need. Yet I can’t help but miss the two-week holiday vacation with family and friends, highlights of which were eating out, exchanging gifts, and just having pure fun.

Christmas was spent with the whole family as we gathered at Lola’s place, only this time we missed her presence. Our tradition of having noche buena together and exchanging gifts was fun and surprising still. We opened our gifts together and found out who our secret santas were.

Wearing our "Tulong Na" shirts which we bought to help out Yolanda victims.
Wearing our “Tulong Na” shirts which we bought to help out Yolanda victims.
Gifts gifts gifts! Hello to my alter ego - The Iron Mouse.
Gifts gifts gifts! Hello to my alter ego – The Iron Mouse.
Our Christmas family picture - including my baby Crystal of course!
Our Christmas family picture – including my baby Crystal of course!
The much-awaited exchange gift, and yours truly as the host. Our fourth (or maybe fifth) year of doing this!
The much-awaited exchange gift with yours truly as the host. Our fourth (or maybe fifth) year of doing this!

 

I didn’t pass up the chance to meet up with my college friends for dinner and coffee, discussing life, love, and showbiz chismis. LOL.

The funniest and smartest people talking about losing weight after the holidays. The Biggest Loser is on!
The funniest and smartest people talking about losing weight after the holidays. The Biggest Loser is on!

 

And before going back to the daily grind, I slept over at Cindy’s new place. I poured my heart out over cups of wine, made plans for the new year over bottles of old school sarsaparilla, and resolved to live 2014 to the fullest while staring out at the stars.

So yeah, we didn't have a corkscrew. But the girl scouts in us will never let a cork thwart our plans of getting drunk!
So yeah, we didn’t have a corkscrew. But the girl scouts in us will never let a cork thwart our plans of getting drunk!
Ha! Bye cork! Don't worry, we didn't drink the wine with floating cork bits in it.
Ha! Bye cork! Don’t worry, we didn’t drink the wine with floating cork bits in it.
And because Cindy has just moved in and she doesn't have wine glasses yet, we used her measuring cups. Hihi. So much for sophisticated wine drinking.
And because Cindy has just moved in and she doesn’t have wine glasses yet, we used her measuring cups. Hihi. So much for sophisticated wine drinking.
Bundaberg sarsaparilla
Our new favorite – Bundaberg Sarsaparilla. Sign of aging, yes.
Waking up to this view after drinking and nursing a broken heart. I felt soooo much better afterwards.
Then waking up to this view after drinking and nursing a broken heart. I felt soooo much better afterwards.

 

I’ve read somewhere that if you cried after looking back at the past year, then it was a meaningful one. I shed buckets of tears from frustration, sadness, and pain. But tears of joy also overflowed from moments of happiness and that realization that I am still alive and blessed.

I’m getting ready for another jam packed week ahead, but hey, I’m waiting for it with arms wide open. I’m buckling up for another wild ride with more determination than ever before.

Leave a Reply

