Daily Prompt: Clone Wars

If you could clone yourself, how would you split up your responsibilities?

Wow, double patty!

image

If there could be another me, I guess that would be really useful. I could imagine being able to accomplish twice as what I could do now.

Splitting up responsibilities wouldn’t be hard, I guess. I will divide my tasks into two categories: responsibilities for others and responsibilities for myself.

Responsibilities for others would include the following:
– Work, primarily because my main deliverable as a leader is to drive the team towards successfully achieving our goals. This usually occupies more than half of my day.
– Chores at home, specifically washing the dishes because that’s what has been assigned to me since… Errr I cannot really remember. Ever since I was old enough (and tall enough to reach the sink) to do it after each meal. I do my own laundry and clean my own room, too.
– Household errands, which include paying the internet and phone bills and dealing with my most hated telco company, Globe.
– Duties for the baby, and I’m pertaining to my dog, Crystal. I need to bathe her at least once a week or bring her to the vet for her regular check-up.

Responsibilities for myself, on the other hand, are geared towards self-fulfillment. These are activities that make me happy, enable me to explore the world, give me the opportunity to practice creativity, and foster emotional, spiritual, and mental growth:
– Traveling, as I’ve targeted at least three local and one international destination each year (glad to say I’m done with the local destinations!)
– Blogging, which usually takes a backseat when I’m too tired to write after a long day at work.
– Reading, which, like blogging, is not prioritized. I am on my fourth book for this year though (out of the fifteen I’m set to read this 2014).
– Exercising, which reminds me that I need to start jogging and doing yoga again!
– “Beautifying” myself, studying, meeting up with friends regularly, the list goes on…

It excited me somehow to visualize two Pattys in action – one fulfilling my responsibilities for others, and the other ticking task after task for myself. But come to think of it – having just one body, one mind, one goal, which is to be ultimately happy, is possible. I don’t need to clone myself because having all these responsibilities, for others and for myself, helps strike a balance in life and makes me sane (though at times I feel like my brain is going to explode when I am going over my to-do list). I am continuously exposed to novelty, but I always have time allocated for the serious, adult stuff. When I travel, I can wander and explore and have fun. When I am at my desk and working, I can think, lead, and guide others. When I write articles for my blog, I can come up with endless ways to play with words and put my thoughts out there for the world to see. There are many differences between my responsibilities for others and for myself, and those are what make life fun and thrilling, right?

I wouldn’t even start wishing that scientists will discover ways to clone people. I’m happy working an eight-hour job in the morning and coming home to play with my dog at night while watching the latest episode of Game of Thrones.

Leave a Reply

