GIrl vs. Mountain: Mt. Romelo, April 2014

Another item from my bucket list – done! Just a week after my Caramoan trip, I explored Mt. Romelo with my Dad, my Ninong, and the rest of their mountain climbing buddies as well as some first timers like me.

Mt. Romelo is situated in Siniloan, Laguna, with an elevation of 300 meters above sea level. Since the hike is given a 2/9 difficulty rating, two to three hours would be enough to get to the “peak.” There is no real summit unlike on other mountains, but Mt. Romelo boasts of waterfalls and rain forests that you can explore near the campsite.

I’d have to say that it wasn’t as hard as I imagined for a first climb. Maybe because there were horses that you can hire, and they can bring some of your things to the campsite. Our tour guide, BJ aka Tago, also helped me halfway up with my backpack. Nonetheless, I enjoyed every bit of my first mountain climbing experience.

mt. romelo, mountain climbing in mt. romelo
Two hours of trekking and climbing up a few steep slopes.
mt. romelo, mountain climbing in mt. romelo
Fully covered from head to toe with only my eyes and hands visible!
mt. romelo, mountain climbing in mt. romelo
Most parts of the mountain were pretty easy to navigate.
mt. romelo, mountain climbing in mt. romelo
A fellow first-time climber who was amazingly fast, Mr. Igay. At 70+ years old, he still runs marathons! Not the 3k or 5k distances, but he prefers 21k or 42k!
mt. romelo, mountain climbing in mt. romelo
Stopping for a few minutes of rest with the rest of our group. My Dad asked me to be in front, while he stays at the back as the sweeper.
mt. romelo, mountain climbing in mt. romelo
This is one of the huts which sells buko juice and soda. The other one which is nearer the camp site sells iced candy!
mt. romelo, mountain climbing in mt. romelo
My Dad (wearing black), his loyal “kanang kamay” Aries (standing behind him), and our tour guide Tago (wearing gray). He is 14 years old and lives at the foot of the mountain with his sister.
mt. romelo, mountain climbing in mt. romelo
The view from the top!
mt. romelo, mountain climbing in mt. romelo
After about two hours, we reached the campsite. There is a sari-sari store and a makeshift comfort room near these tents.
mt. romelo, mountain climbing in mt. romelo
This was our little home for two days. This sturdy tent has made it to Mt. Pulag! I am so envious.
mt. romelo, mountain climbing in mt. romelo
The campsite is near a brook which flows downstream to Buruwisan Falls.
mt. romelo, mountain climbing in mt. romelo
Cooking has never been this fun!
mt. romelo, mountain climbing in mt. romelo
You can rent a small cottage if you don’t have a tent or if you want to safe keep your things. There’s also a table adjacent to each cottage where we took our meals.

Mt. Romelo features waterfalls, so we spent a good part of the trip exploring them. We were able to swim in three waterfalls – Batya-Batya Falls, Buruwisan Falls, and Lanzones Falls.

mt. romelo, mountain climbing in mt. romelo
On our way to the first falls on our list – Batya-Batya Falls.
mt. romelo, mountain climbing in mt. romelo, batya-batya falls
Upper right corner of the photo – that’s me trying to climb up the second level of Batya-Batya Falls. It was a bit scary but ultimately fun! PS: I don’t know how to swim so I had to ask my Dad to assist me. The second level of the falls is 18 ft. deep.
mt. romelo, mountain climbing in mt. romelo, buruwisan falls
From the campsite, there’s a short but steep trail going to Buruwisan Falls. You need to grab and hold on to the large tree roots as you descend.
mt. romelo, mountain climbing in mt. romelo, buruwisan falls
Behind me is Buruwisan Falls, which is 180 ft. high. There were people rappelling that time (look at that rope dangling there)
mt. romelo, mountain climbing in mt. romelo, Lanzones Falls
This greeted us when we got to the third falls – Lanzones Falls.
mt. romelo, mt. romelo mountain climbing, lanzones falls
Having fun with the rest of the gang in front of Lanzones Falls.
Lanzones Falls, mt. romelo
That’s the 70 ft. high Lanzones Falls behind me.
Lanzones Falls, mt. romelo
Doing the famous Oblation statue pose in front of Lanzones Falls.

It was an unforgettable trip – swimming in the cold waters of Lanzones Falls, slipping on some rocks, cooking on small pots and portable stoves, sleeping in a tent and feeling the hard earth below me. I have to say that it was a convenient one, too, probably because Mt. Romelo is a bit commercialized already with stores and cottages and water sources all over the area. Nonetheless, it gave me two great days in which I felt again how it is to be connected to nature by being disconnected from technology. I also had fun with my Dad and Ninong and the rest of the people in the group who were all funny, resourceful and very accommodating.

They were asking me on our trek back to the trail head if I’d join them again. Without thinking twice, I said, “Syempre naman! Ang saya eh. Sama ako ulit.” My Dad teased me about not being a “ganap na mountaineer” and for being a member of the “sakay-kabayo mountaineering club,” but I am challenging myself next time. I promise to carry my backpack for my next mountain climbing trip! It’s two weeks away!

mt. romelo
Bye, Mt. Romelo! Trekking back to the trail head.
mt. romelo
Thank you, Mr. Sun, for being up there and not making it hard for a first timer.
6 thoughts on “GIrl vs. Mountain: Mt. Romelo, April 2014

    1. Hi, Vin. Unfortunately we dont have his contact number, pero once you get to the registration area pwede nio i-request yung guide if he’s there. Tell them you’re looking for Tago or BJ. 🙂

Leave a Reply

