Eat and Run: CBTL and World Vision Run 2014

I am starting to fall in love. With running, that is.

I joined my second marathon this year and took pride in running with 5,400 other participants at the World Vision Run 2014 on June 22. This is World Vision’s annual fundraising event held at the Bonifacio Global City, and the beneficiaries are some 8,000 children under their Child Sponsorship program. I opted to do the 5k run and promised myself that this would be my last 5k. Feelingera ako eh so I want to move up to 10k already.

Gun time for 5k was 5:10am, and this time I wasn’t late. LOL. I had a few minutes to spare to do warm up exercises and people-watch. Hehe. I gave myself a target – 45 minutes or better. I finished the whole stretch after 45 minutes and 19 seconds. More practice needed!

World vision run 2014, world vision, philippine marathons

World vision run 2014, world vision, philippine marathons
Baggage deposit and claiming was organized, so good job, RunRio!
World vision run 2014, world vision, philippine marathons, finish line
Zoom in to see me cross the finish line. πŸ™‚
World vision run 2014, world vision, philippine marathons
Yay! After 45:19, a bottle of Gatorade, and buckets of sweat.
World vision run 2014, world vision, philippine marathons
Saw a former officemate from Yell Adworks, and syempre we had to have a photo taken!
World vision run 2014, world vision, philippine marathons, runrio
The mandatory finish line photo, where I was photobombed by the running guru, Coach Rio of RunRio.
World vision run 2014, world vision, philippine marathons
A marathon is never complete if there are no long lines for freebies and loot bags.
World vision run 2014, world vision, philippine marathons
And… A Zumba sesh to keep the energy level high and everyone entertained while waiting for the raffle draw and announcement of winners.
World vision run 2014, world vision, philippine marathons
Walang kapaguran!
World vision run 2014, world vision, philippine marathons
The much awaited announcement of podium finishers and the raffle draw. Argh. I’m never lucky pagdating sa mga raffle.

The marathon’s organizer, RunRio, did a good job in making it a successful and fun event. The claiming of loot bags wasn’t as orderly though, and the contents weren’t really pleasing. Sana bumili na lang ako ng Gatorade and mineral water from the grocery. Anyway, I hope that this year’s Sofitel Half Marathon which I plan on joining would be different and loot bag claiming more systematic and efficient.

Of course I was tired and starving after the 5k marathon. I don’t eat heavy breakfast before a run, just a can of coffee and a banana. I had to treat myself to a big breakfast at my favorite coffee shop, Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf at BHS.

World vision run 2014, coffee bean and tea leaf, quiche, chinese chicken salad
Breakfast of champions: Chinese Chicken Salad and Quiche

I guess this love for running has stemmed from my evolving appreciation for the outdoors and for physical activities. It has pushed me to take good care of myself and start aiming higher, may it be in the distance that I’ll cover or the mountain that I’ll scale. I just love the fact that I am devoting time and effort to something that is beneficial to my health, and the bonus is I get to do this while helping out others. Cheers to all the runners of the World Vision Run 2014 and hope to see you at the following marathons: Eco R3run for Sustainability, Sofitel Half Marathon, and Color Manila Nite Run in August!

Race results are available here: http://runrio.com/2014/06/world-vision-run-2014-results/

Leave a Reply

